Each year we observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15. It is a time to celebrate the histories, cultures and contributions of people whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Latin American Countries.
The day of September 15 is significant because it marks the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries that include Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. Furthermore, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence on September 16 and September 18, respectively.
“The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402.” (Source)
NAMI California recognizes the importance of embracing our diverse communities and striving for inclusiveness within the mental health system. Therefore during the following months we will highlight specific heritage, history and affiliate community engaging activities.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s